Opinion: What We Want to See More of and Less of in 2015

We at Pop Rocking Culture have come up with a short list of what we want to see more of and less of in pop culture in the next year.  Some are very obvious, while some less so.  Here we go:

Up Arrow

WHAT WE WANT TO SEE MORE OF IN 2015:

1. Adventure shows like Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D..

Agents of SHIELD 4

As regular readers of this blog probably guessed, we are big fans of MAOS at Pop Rocking Culture.  Sure, you have Arrow and The Flash, but we want more!

2. Truly funny social media memes.  When it came to new memes, we wondered if anything would rise to the level of the famous Batman slapping Robin meme.  Some new memes were a bit confusing — what does Kermit the Frog drinking tea have to do with anything?  But Michael Jackson eating popcorn as he eagerly awaits comments?  Pres. Obama anticipating blame?  Those are funny!  Keep it coming, you people with nothing better to do!

3.  The Simpsons.  This created a bit of controversy here at Pop Rocking Culture — aren’t there 25 years worth of episodes to watch?  But Blue Striker wants this show to go on forever!  Hope you’re reading this, Fox and Matt Groening!

4. Wonder Woman.  Earlier this year, Pop Rocking Culture posted a couple of articles about the casting and directing of upcoming movies featuring Wonder Woman.  Add to that the bestselling book, Jill Lepore’s The Secret History of Wonder Woman, and you have a regular Amazing Amazon renaissance going on.  Coming in 2015:  Wonder Woman ’77, a digital comic book featuring the world of Wonder Woman as it was portrayed in the iconic 1970s TV show starring Lynda Carter, and another Wonder Woman book, Noah Berlatsky’s explicitly titled Wonder Woman: Bondage and Feminism in the Marston/Peter Comics, 1941-1948.

Stop arrow

WHAT WE WANT TO SEE LESS OF IN 2015:

Unfortunately, this list is much more obvious, because A LOT OF PEOPLE want to see less of:

1. Justin Bieber.

Fun meme of Justin Bieber mugshot

Fun meme of Justin Bieber mugshot

Good Justin, Bad Justin.  How about No Justin?

2. Kim Kardashian.  This includes her body parts, as well as her entire extended family.

3. Will and Kate.  Another controversial selection by Blue Striker, because I love Will, Kate and the children (those here and yet to come).  But I can see where Blue is coming from — he’s an American boy who has absolutely no use for royalty.

4. Family Guy.  Okay, you had your revival.  The door is to your right.

What do you think?  Do you agree?  Disagree?  We want to hear from you!

Advertisements

Donald Duck has some pre$ent$ for you and your eagle eyes this Christmas!

I would’ve preferred cash money presents from Uncle Scrooge McDuck (yeah, like THAT would’ve happened). We here at Pop Rocking Culture had a great Christmas. Hope yours was good too. (And we will have a new post soon!)

blog into mystery

donaldxmas

If you enjoyed the vintage Donald Duck-led subscription ad but wanted the sassy sailor to be alone in the spotlight, perhaps this contest, with cash money presents from Donald, is more up your alley.

View original post 57 more words

Reaction: Blair Underwood joins Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (contains possible spoilers)

As much as I love Blair Underwood (I’m a fan of his Facebook page), I was rather annoyed at the news that he’s going to join the cast of Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (MAOS).  I am convinced that Underwood has some dirt on important people in the TV business, as it seems that a year doesn’t pass without him on yet another TV show.  I think that the only reason why Blair Underwood hasn’t been on TV much this past year is because he was performing in the revival of the play The Trip to Bountiful, which I saw and enjoyed very much.

Maybe MAOS needed another Black guy in the cast since the show decided to kill off Agent Triplett (B.J. Britt) in the last episode before the mid-season break.  Triplett’s death resulted, as par for the course for the show, in leaving a few things unresolved. I was waiting for Agent Triplett to make a big revelation regarding something his grandfather (who I assume was Gabe Jones of the Howling Commandos) discovered during World War II.  But, on the other hand, judging from what happened to Agent Coulson, in the Marvel Universe, presumably dead people don’t necessarily stay dead!

Clark Gregg (Agent Phil Coulson) and Ming-Na Wen (Agent Melinda May) at the 2014 PaleyFest panel on Marvel's Agents of Shield.

Clark Gregg (Agent Phil Coulson) and Ming-Na Wen (Agent Melinda May) at the 2014 PaleyFest panel on Marvel’s Agents of Shield.

Going back to the casting of Blair Underwood, I noticed that both he and Clark Gregg (Agent Coulson) were both on The New Adventures of Old Christine.  Underwood played a boyfriend of Christine (Julia Louis-Dreyfus), which Gregg played Christine’s ex-husband.  On MAOS, Underwood is Agent Melinda May’s (Ming-Na Wen) ex-husband, while there have been hints of a past relationship between Agent May and Agent Coulson.  Coincidence?  I don’t know, but I’m waiting for Wanda Sykes to show up as Agent May’s best friend!

Comic Book Gift Guide Pt. 3

Part three of Wayne Xiao Long’s Comic Book Gift Guide (2014).

Wayne Xiao Long (小龙)

comicgiftguide4

While the first installment of the gift guide served as a starting point for fans of The Flash, Man of Steel, GothamSmallville, and the Batman:Arkhamverse/Injustice crowd and the second installment aimed to help readers looking for strong female characters and fans of the creepy comic book shows Constantine and The Walking Dead, the third installment deals (mostly) solely with (mostly) independent (mostly) non-superhero comics.

ALL-AGES ALTERNATIVE HISTORY: Buying something for a new reader? I’m a huge fans of using comics to both teach language and provoke the reader’s historical imagination. One book that I’ll giving this year is Van Jensen and Jose Pimienta’s The Leg: The Remarkable Reappearance of Santa Anna’s Disembodied Limb, which tells the story of the remarkable reappearance of Santa Anna’s disembodied limb. The book wanders around 20th century Mexican history with a few surprise guest appearances. The language…

View original post 521 more words

Opossum Carols, or Walt Kelly’s Xmas Postludicrosity

More Christmas reflections. I played the video for Bill and Blue Striker…their reaction? “What the heck is this?!” If you don’t get it, you’re too young!

Humor in America

As the first snows of December drift across my South St Louis windows, and the last shards of Thanksgiving turkey find their way into the requisite casseroles, cold cuts, and cauldrons of stock, I find myself harkening back to early Advent Sundays of yore.

My childhood, like so many others, was loaded with the humor of the holidays, but one of my family’s favorite traditions always tended in a more marsupial direction. So if you’ie got some time between mixing tubs of “Tom and Jerry” and trimming the tree, I’d like to share one of many meaningful excursions through the absurd quadrants of kiddie Christmas culture.

Charlie3
As I boy growing up in Detroit in the 1970s, I loved watching my mother collapse the last of her gargantuan Thanksgiving feast into a few impossibly crammed Tupperware containers and stuff the serving platters, gravy boats, and silver-plate cutlery away for their long…

View original post 1,901 more words

2014 Comic Book Gift Guide Pt. 2

The Part 2 of the Comic Book Gift Guide.

Wayne Xiao Long (小龙)

Spoiler alert: Slade Wilson shoots his eye out! Spoiler alert: Slade Wilson shoots his eye out!

Welcome to second installment of the World’s Second Greatest Detetective’s 2014 Comic Book Gift Guide! In the first installment, I offered suggestions to those shopping for fans of the television programs The Flash,Gotham, and Smallville, the video games in the Batman: Arkham-verse and Injustice, and the film Man of Steel as well as some suggestions for a person’s individual fancies regarding Superman. While I enjoyed writing that list and believe it could come in handy for a handful of holiday shoppers, I felt quite embarrassed when I got towards the end (blogger’s exhaustion as it were) when I realized I had compiled a list almost exclusively contained heterosexual white males. This is 2014 and while heterosexual white dudes still dominate comics in both content and the industry, there are plenty of interesting characters and talented creators who…

View original post 1,188 more words